Dua Lipa – ‘Dua Lipa’ (2017) Album Review

Dua Lipa – ‘Dua Lipa’ (2017) Album Review

The long delayed Dua Lipa debut is finally here!

While it may have been a painful wait since the delay was announced, it was for the right decision.

It allowed Dua to build her name a bit more, which she did on major Martin Garrix EDM collaboration “Scared To Be Lonely”.

The singer has toured with Troye Sivan and is planning to open for Bruno Mars in Australia. Can it get any bigger then that?

Sometimes albums suffer from huge delays because listeners have heard most of the tracks before it’s even released. But Dua’s team have amped up the track number, coming in at a whooping 17 track album. There’s plenty of new material to froth over!

What we have already heard has been great, but the new material is just divine.

Opening track, “Genesis” blows you away from first listen. It’s nice to have the studio version after hearing a glimpse of it during an acoustic performance.


It’s a range of mixed emotions here, from feeling the love on “Thinking ‘Bout You” and “No Goodbyes”, while showing rage on tracks like “IDGAF” and “Hotter than Hell”. She oozes confidence on “IDGAF” and will likely be your new anthem to get over an ex.

Another highlight is “New Rules”, it’s one of the tracks you can see radio eating up. A catchy fun bop that will have you on your feet.

“Room for 2” also briskly touches on societal issues and breaking out of the system. So yeah, there’s a bit of everything to be heard on this stunning LP.

Verdict: It’s been a long time coming, but Dua Lipa’s self-titled debut is worth the wait. A perfect assortment of pop tracks to kickstart Dua’s promising music career ahead.

Best tracks: Genesis, Garden, Last Dance, IDGAF, Be the One, No Goodbyes, Hotter Than Hell, Lost In Your Light.

Overall Rating: 9/10